Thursday, 14th December 2017,7:03:04am

The UIA ‘Friendly and Inclusive Spaces’ Awards

EXTENDED DEADLINE: Entries can be submitted online up to the 31st January 2017

Paris and Dublin, 28 September 2016, The International Union of Architects (UIA) has launched the second edition of the ‘Friendly and Inclusive Spaces’ Awards. The Awards recognise and promote inclusive design – from buildings and public spaces to research – and are open to all architect members of UIA member sections. Entries can be submitted online, from 28 September until 31 January 2017, at

The UIA Friendly and Inclusive Spaces Awards are being administrated by the Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland (RIAI), based in Dublin. An international expert jury will short-list projects from around the world and the category winners will be announced the UIA World Congress in Seoul, South Korea, in September 2017.

Eligibility and Entry

Eligible are built works designed by architect member(s) of UIA Member Section that have been completed since 30 November 2013. Works may include: new buildings and public spaces, and rehabilitation or adaptive reuse of existing or historic buildings and places. A special award will be given to an architect(s) for evidence-based design research that makes a significant contribution to improved quality of life through facilitating a better understanding of user-centred design and its application to the design of the built environment.

The ‘Friendly and Inclusive Spaces’ Awards are hosted on the online platform Awards Force, where projects can be entered on There is a fee of €50 for Stage 1 entries and a subsequent fee of €150 for Stage 2 to facilitate the printing of exhibition panels. Following short-listing by regional juries (Stage 1) an international Jury (Stage 2) will decide on the winning projects. The winner of each category will be announced at the UIA World Congress in Seoul in September 2017.

The International Jury:

Vassilis Sgoutas, Greece, Past President UIA (Jury Chairman)

Krzysztof Ingarden, Poland, (Medal Winner Durban 2014)

Krzysztof Chwalibog, Poland, Co-Director UIA Architecture for All WP

Fionnuala Rogerson, Ireland, Co-Director UIA Architecture for All Work WP:

Joseph Kwan, Hong Kong, Co-ordinator, UIA Region IV Architecture for All WP

Eduardo Elkouss, Spain, Co-ordinator Region lll UIA Architecture for All WP

For further information on the ‘Friendly and Inclusive Spaces’ Awards, contact RIAI Communications Manager, Dr. Sandra O’Connell, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or Awards Administrator, Claudia O’Dwyer, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..